Tourlane and Planetly make dream vacations carbon neutral

Tourlane, the online travel company for tailor-made dream vacations, is a pioneer in the travel industry: All carbon emissions generated by the company and by customers on Tourlane trips are offset at no extra cost to the client. Working with Planetly, Tourlane offset 40,000 tons of carbon based on its business operations and estimated passenger numbers for 2020.

Industry: Travel
Location: Berlin, Germany
Employees: 250+
CO2 Compensation

40.000t

Carbon offset

Offset Projects

9

Offset portfolio projects

Data Points

> 3.000

Data points analyzed

About Tourlane
About Tourlane

Background & the goal

Founded in Berlin in 2016, Tourlane is a leading online provider of tailor-made dream vacations from Travel Experts. The company combines proprietary technology with the experience and knowledge of specialized Travel Experts to make the planning and booking of multi-day trips seamless and personal for travelers. Tourlane customers can book fully personalized itineraries to over 50 destinations worldwide.

 

Tourlane believes that travel is an enriching experience and wants to help ensure that the places their customers go to are left as healthy as they were on arrival. That’s why Tourlane is stepping up by taking an active role in sustainability and shrinking its footprint. They are creating an individualized and data-driven approach to offset the entirety of their company’s and their travelers’ carbon emissions. We call this going Planet Positive.

At Tourlane, we believe that travel has to be based on respect for the planet. This is why we promote responsible and sustainable tourism through eco-friendly initiatives. In the process, we eliminate our company’s and our travelers’ ecological footprint, to give back to the planet we value. For this mission we have chosen Planetly as a partner.



Julian Weselek
Co-Founder & Co-CEO
Tourlane Office

Footprint

Tourlane's footprint

Tourlane’s carbon footprint comprises the sum of greenhouse gases that are released into the atmosphere by all aspects of the company’s operations. As Tourlane’s business is to create dream vacations, that footprint contains a large share of emissions from customer flights and accommodation. Although Tourlane does not directly control these emissions, their efforts towards completely eliminating carbon from their trips also include these major elements.

 

Back home, Tourlane’s offices consume heating energy and electricity, causing emissions of 68.6 tonnes of CO2e. The good news is that one office is already on 100% renewable energy and the company will transition all offices to 100% renewable energy by 2021. The cloud services they use to power their business is also almost emission-free: 98% of the energy is from renewable sources. And finally, business travel, employee commuting, and catering for staff contribute 505.5 tonnes of CO2e to the company footprint.

 

In order to reduce this number, Tourlane implemented a “more trains than planes” mantra, went vegetarian in all offices, and is considering options to reduce employee commuting and support climate-friendly home energy use.

40.000t

The biggest emission sources:

Globe
39.000t CO2e

Customer trips

Plane
505,5t CO2e

Business travel, employee commute & catering

Printer
68,6t CO2e

Office heating & electricity

Analysis

The results of our footprint analysis

The bulk of Tourlane’s carbon footprint is caused by customer trips. Their tailor-made itineraries include flights, hotels, cars, and trains which contribute significantly to the total carbon footprint. Tourlane already offset its estimated 2020 emissions and is working with Planetly to create real-time calculations and offsets for 2021.

Forest
Prospect

Going forward, Tourlane will reduce emissions

Tourlane is serious about offsets being a temporary measure while working towards reducing company and travelers’ entire ecological footprint around the world. But for that to work, they need to know the specifics about their footprint and where different measures could make the most impact.

This is why Tourlane is partnering with Planetly in taking an individual and data-driven approach to calculation in order to increase transparency and accountability. Additionally, Tourlane is an active member of Leaders for Climate Action (LFCA), a group supporting emission reduction and demanding the government set a significantly higher carbon price. Planetly is also a proud member of LFCA.

Projects

Tourlane have offset their emissions

Tourlane was provided a wide selection of potential offsetting projects. The company chose to support offset projects in Asia, Africa, and South America with an emphasis on projects that additionally support U.N. Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for gender equality and eliminating poverty. The types of projects they chose range from cookstove replacement, biomass, wind and solar energy, to hydropower. There’s an immediacy to Tourlane’s efforts, and they’ve chosen projects that reflect a certain urgency. They are keeping an open mind, however, and aren’t eliminating the idea of alternative projects in the future.

  • Namakkal

    Namakkal Waste to Energy Project

    India

  • Wind Mongolia

    Large-Scale Wind Project, Mongolia

    Mongolia

  • Cook Stoves Malawi

    Improved Cook Stoves for Households in Malawi

    Malawi

  • Cook Stoves Uganda

    Institutional Improved Cook Stoves for Schools in Uganda

    Uganda

  • Wind Farm China

    Wind Farm Project, China

    China

  • Biomass India

    Biomass Project Punjab, India

    India

  • Clean Water Laos

    Clean Water Access for families, Laos

    Laos

  • Hydro Peru

    Hydro Project, Peru

    Peru

  • Want to find out more?

    Write to us if you have any questions about the procedure or if you would like to take the path to climate neutrality with Planetly yourself!

    Johann Jones
    Tourlane
    Johann Jones
    [email protected]
    Go to Tourlane
    Christina Richter
    Planetly
    Christina Richter
    [email protected]
    Go to Planetly

    Become a Pilot Customer

Tourlane und Planetly machen Traumreisen CO2-neutral

Tourlane, der führende Online-Anbieter für maßgeschneiderte Traumreisen von Reiseexperten, ist ein Pionier der Reisebranche: Das Unternehmen kompensiert alle CO2-Emissionen aus dem eigenen Geschäftsbetrieb sowie den Reisen seiner Kunden ohne zusätzlichen Aufpreis. Zusammen mit Planetly hat Tourlane 40.000 Tonnen CO2 und damit den eigenen Fußabdruck sowie alle geschätzten Reisen für 2020 kompensiert.

Planetly Seal
Industrie: Reisen
Ort: Berlin
Mitarbeiter: 250+
CO2 Kompensation

40.000t

CO2 kompensiert

Offset Projekte

9

Offset Portfolio Projekte

Data Points

> 3.000

Datenpunkte analysiert

Tourlane wird klimaneutral
Über Tourlane

Hintergrund & Zielstellung

Tourlane, der 2016 in Berlin gegründete Online-Anbieter für maßgeschneiderte Traumreisen von Reiseexperten, kombiniert neueste Technologie mit der Expertise erfahrener Reiseexperten, um die Planung und Buchung von mehrtägigen Reisen für Reisende nahtlos und persönlich zu gestalten. Tourlane-Kunden können vollständig personalisierte Reiserouten für über 50 Reiseziele weltweit buchen.

 

Tourlane ist überzeugt, dass das Reisen eine bereichernde Erfahrung ist, und will dazu beitragen, die Orte, die Reisende mit Tourlane besuchen, in einem guten Zustand zu hinterlassen. Deshalb ergreift Tourlane eine aktive Rolle, wenn es um Nachhaltigkeit geht und darum, den ökologischen Fußabdruck des Unternehmens und seiner Kunden zu minimieren. Mit einem individuellen und datenbasierten Ansatz kompensiert das Unternehmen seine gesamten eigenen Emissionen sowie die seiner Kunden. Wir nennen dies Planet Positive.

Wir bei Tourlane glauben, dass Reisen im Einklang mit der Natur erfolgen muss. Deshalb fördern wir verantwortungsvollen und nachhaltigen Tourismus durch ökologisch bewusste Initiativen. Dabei gleichen wir den CO₂-Fußabdruck unseres Unternehmens sowie unserer Reisenden aus, um dem Planeten etwas zurückzugeben. Für diese Mission haben wir Planetly als Partner ausgewählt.



Julian Weselek
Co-Founder & Co-CEO
Tourlane Office

Fussabdruck

Tourlanes Fussabdruck

Tourlanes Fußabdruck umfasst die Summe der Treibhausgase, die durch alle Unternehmensaktivitäten in die Atmosphäre gelangen. Da Tourlanes Geschäft darin besteht, Traumreisen durchzuführen, enthält dieser Fußabdruck einen großen Teil an Emissionen aus den Flügen und Übernachtungen seiner Kunden. Obwohl Tourlane keine direkte Kontrolle über diese Emissionen hat, berücksichtigt das Unternehmen sie in seinen Bemühungen um CO2-neutrales Reisen.

 

Am Unternehmensstandort in Berlin verbrauchen Tourlanes Büros Heizenergie und Strom, die zusammen 68,6 Tonnen CO2e verursachen. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass ein Büro bereits zu 100% Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien bezieht und alle anderen Büros bis 2021 ebenfalls auf 100% Ökostrom umstellen werden. Die Cloud-Services, die das Unternehmen nutzt, sind ebenfalls fast emissionsfrei: 98% der dafür benötigten Energie ist erneuerbar. Und schließlich tragen Geschäftsreisen, das Pendeln der Mitarbeiter und Verpflegung für Mitarbeiter nochmals 505,5 Tonnen CO2e zum Fußabdruck des Unternehmens bei.

 

Um diese Zahlen zu senken, hat Tourlane das Mantra „mehr Züge als Flüge” eingeführt, alle Büros auf vegetarische Verpflegung umgestellt, und arbeitet an Möglichkeiten, das Pendeln der Mitarbeiter zu reduzieren sowie klimafreundliche Energienutzung zu Hause zu fördern.

40.000t

Die Größten Emissionsfaktoren sind:

Globe
39.000t CO2e

Reisen der Kunden

Plane
505,5t CO2e

Geschäftsreisen, Pendeln der Mitarbeiter, Verpflegung

Printer
68,6t CO2e

Strom und Heizung der Büros

Analyse

Ergebnis unserer Analyse

Der Großteil von Tourlanes CO2-Fußabdruck entfällt auf die Reisen seiner Kunden. Die maßgeschneiderten Touren umfassen Flüge, Hotels, Mietwagen und Züge und tragen maßgeblich zum Gesamtausstoß bei. Tourlane hat bereits die geschätzten Emissionen für 2020 kompensiert und arbeitet mit Planetly daran, Echtzeit-Berechnungen und Kompensationen für 2021 durchzuführen.

Forest
Ausblick

Künftig will Tourlane Emissionen reduzieren

Für Tourlane ist die Kompensation von CO2 eine temporäre Lösung, während das Unternehmen daran arbeitet, seine eigenen Emissionen und die seiner Reisenden weltweit zu senken. Dafür müssen sie genau wissen, wo ihr Fußabdruck entsteht und welche Maßnahmen sie ergreifen können, um den größten Unterschied zu erzielen.

 

Deshalb arbeitet Tourlane mit Planetly an einem individuellen und datenbasierten Berechnungsansatz, um mehr Transparenz und Verantwortungsbewusstsein zu schaffen. Außerdem ist Tourlane ein aktives Mitglied der Leaders for Climate Action (LFCA), ein Zusammenschluss aus Unternehmen, der sich für Emissionssenkungen einsetzt und von der Regierung einen deutlich höheren CO2-Preis fordert. Planetly ist ebenfalls stolzes LFCA-Mitglied.

Projekte

Tourlane hat seine Emissionen kompensiert

Tourlane erhielt eine große Auswahl möglicher Projekte für die Kompensation. Das Unternehmen wählte Projekte in Asien, Afrika und Südamerika, die zusätzlich zum Klimaschutz auch die U.N. Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter und Armutsbekämpfung unterstützen. Die Technologien, die in den Projekten zum Einsatz kommen, reichen von effizienten Kochöfen über Biomasse, Wind- und Solarenergie bis hin zu Wasserkraft. Tourlane möchte jetzt sofort etwas verändern, und die ausgewählten Projekte spiegeln diese Dringlichkeit wider.

  • Namakkal

    Namakkal Projekt zur Energiegewinnung aus Abfall

    Indien

  • Windgroßprojekt, Mongolei

    Mongolei

  • Cook Stoves Malawi

    Verbesserte Kochherde für Haushalte in Malawi

    Malawi

  • Cook Stoves Uganda

    Institutionell verbesserte Kochherde für Schulen in Uganda

    Uganda

  • Wind China

    Windpark-Projekt, China

    China

  • Biomass India

    Biomasse-Projekt Punjab, Indien

    Indien

  • Clean Water Laos

    Zugang zu sauberem Wasser für Familien, Laos

    Laos

  • Hydro Peru

    Wasserkraftprojekt, Peru

    Peru

  • Würden Sie gerne mehr Informationen erhalten?

    Schreiben Sie uns, wenn Sie Fragen zum Vorgehen haben oder selber mit Planetly den Weg zur Klimaneutralität gehen möchten!

    Johann Jones
    Tourlane
    Johann Jones
    [email protected]
    Zu Tourlane
    Planetly
    Christina Richter
    [email protected]
    Zu Planetly

    Jetzt Pilotkunde werden!