smava becomes a carbon neutral loan portal with Planetly

smava was launched in 2007 as the first German Fintech with the mission to make loans transparent, fair and affordable for consumers.

 

smava now also creates transparency about their own carbon footprint. In a partnership with Planetly, smava calculated and analysed its CO2 emissions and offset 1,900 tons of CO2e. Planetly also supports smava in developing sustainable reduction strategies.

Industry: Financial Services
Locations: Berlin and Hamburg
Employees: around 600

1,900 t

carbon offset

Offset Projects

2

offset portfolio projects

2019

analysis period

About smava

Background & objectives

smava has been making loans transparent, fair and affordable for consumers since 2007. With the help of digital processes, smava offers an overview of more than 70 loans from more than 20 banks and lending partners. This enables consumers to select the right loan for them and conclude it straight away. On average, borrowers pay 35 percent less interest than the national average by taking out a loan through smava.

 

As a member of the initiative “Leaders for Climate Action”, Co-Founder and CEO Alexander Artopé is already actively committed to climate action. Alexander Artopé and the entire management team are convinced that transparency is not only an essential element in the financial sector but also for climate action.

 

Their goal is to make smava carbon neutral and minimise their carbon footprint moving forward.

 

With Planetly, smava is putting this plan into practice: the CO2 emissions caused by office operations, employee commuting, business travel as well as external service providers have been calculated by Planetly and offset through certified climate action projects.

As a carbon neutral company, smava fulfilled their LFCA Company Pledge again for this year.

“As a member of “Leaders for Climate Action”, I am already actively committed to take climate action and want to pave the way to carbon neutrality for smava. With Planetly, we found an innovative and experienced partner to put this into practice. I am particularly enthusiastic about our individual climate action portfolio which also includes local projects that we particularly care about.”



Alexander Artopé
Co-Founder and CEO, smava

Footprint

smavas carbon footprint

smava’s carbon footprint comprises the sum of greenhouse gases that are released into the atmosphere by all aspects of the company’s operations. A large proportion of these emissions comes from smavas office operations, employee commute and business travel as well as external services the company uses.

 

smava’s carbon footprint takes into account not only direct and energy-related emissions (scope 1 and scope 2) but also the emissions generated in the value chain by service providers and purchased products and services (scope 3).

1,692 t

The biggest emission sources are:

526.79 t CO₂e

Office equipment and consumer goods

Services
450.47 t CO₂e

External services

300.75 t CO₂e

Business travel & Employee Commute

Analysis

The results of our analysis

smava’s carbon footprint for 2019 is 1,692 t CO2e. The largest share of the footprint was caused by office operations, followed by external services used by the company. Business travel and employee commuting account for the third largest part of the footprint. smava has rounded up their calculated carbon footprint to 1,900 t CO2e for the carbon offset.

Outlook

smava takes climate action

In order to reduce its carbon footprint, smava switched its office operations to green electricity this year and is providing water dispensers in the offices instead of plastic bottles.

 

smava has a generous home office policy which allows employees to work from home at times, thus reducing the commuting of employees. They also offer their employees a company ticket for using public transport.

 

smava also plans to set up bee hotels at their Berlin headquarters to support the preservation of our biodiversity and an intact ecosystem.

 

smava CEO Alexander Artopé and CFO Sebastian Bielski are particularly committed to preserving our ecosystem. Therefore, smava has decided to donate to a local afforestation project in Brandenburg and an ocean protection project with the Plastic Bank instead of buying Christmas presents for business partners. With their Christmas donation, smava supports the planting of 270 trees and the collection of more than 9 tons of plastic from the ocean.

Projects

smava has fully offset its CO2 emissions from 2019

CEO Alexander Artopé and CFO Sebastian Bielski share a passion for forests and water and want to make a sustainable contribution here. Their passion is therefore also reflected in smava’s climate action portfolio.

 

With its first project, smava supports access to clean drinking water through well construction and maintenance in Rwanda. The project not only contributes to an improvement of local hygiene and health conditions, but also reduces the dependence on firewood and ensures more equality between women and men.

 

In Indonesia, smava also supports the REDD+ Borneo rainforest project. This project saves 64,500 hectares of peat swamp forests with high biodiversity from being converted into palm oil plantations. The United Nations REDD+ projects pursue long-term strategies to combat the causes of deforestation and forest degradation.

 

All climate action projects supported by smava meet the highest quality requirements.

  • Clean Water Project, Rwanda

    Clean Water Project

    Rwanda

  • borneo rainforest

    REDD+ Borneo Rainforest Project

    Indonesia

  • Afforestation Project in Brandenburg

    Germany

  • Plastic Bank Ocean Protection Project

    Plastic Bank Ocean Protection Project

  • Would you like to receive more information?

    Contact us if you have any questions or if you would like to take the path to carbon neutrality with Planetly yourself!

    smava
    Tina Schirmer
    [email protected]
    About smava
    Christina Richter
    Planetly
    Christina Richter
    [email protected]
    About Planetly

    Become a Customer

smava wird mit Planetly zum klimaneutralen Kreditportal

smava ist 2007 als erstes deutsches Fintech mit der Mission gestartet, Kredite für Verbraucher transparent, fair und günstig zu machen.    

Transparenz schafft smava jetzt auch mit Blick auf den eigenen CO2-Fußabdruck. Gemeinsam mit Planetly hat smava seine CO2-Emissionen berechnet, analysiert und 1.900 Tonnen CO2 kompensiert. smava arbeitet mit Planetly zudem an nachhaltigen Reduktionsstrategien.

Industrie: Finanzdienstleistungen
Orte: Berlin und Hamburg
Mitarbeiter: rund 600
CO2 Kompensation

1.900 t

Kompensiertes CO2

Offset Projekte

2

Klimaschutz-Projekte

Data Points

2019

Analyse-Zeitraum

Über smava

Hintergrund & Zielsetzung

smava macht seit 2007 Kredite für Verbraucher transparent, fair und günstig. Durch digitale Prozesse bietet smava einen Überblick über 70 Kredite von mehr als 20 Banken und Kreditvergabepartnern. So können Verbraucher den für sie passenden Kredit auswählen und direkt abschließen. Im Schnitt zahlen Kreditnehmer durch den Kreditabschluss über smava über 35 Prozent weniger Zinsen als im Bundesdurchschnitt.

 

Co-Founder und CEO Alexander Artopé setzt sich als Mitglied der Initiative “Leaders for Climate Action” bereits aktiv für den Klimaschutz ein und teilt mit dem gesamten Management die Überzeugung, dass Transparenz nicht nur in der Finanzbranche, sondern auch im Klimaschutz essentiell ist.

 

Ihr Ziel: smavas CO2-Fußabdruck bis zur Klimaneutralität minimieren.

 

Mit Planetly setzt smava dieses Vorhaben in die Tat um: die für den Bürobetrieb, das Mitarbeiter-Pendeln, Geschäftsreisen sowie Dienstleistungen entstandenen CO2-Emissionen wurden von Planetly berechnet und über zertifizierte Klimaschutzprojekte kompensiert.

Damit hat smava als klimaneutrales Unternehmen seinen Company Pledge der LFCA auch in diesem Jahr erfüllt.

“Als Mitglied der “Leaders for Climate Action” setze ich mich bereits aktiv für den Klimaschutz ein und möchte den Weg in die Klimaneutralität auch für smava vorantreiben. Mit Planetly haben wir dafür einen innovativen und erfahrenen Partner an unserer Seite. Besonders begeistert bin ich über das individuelle Klimaschutzportfolio, in das wir auch lokale Projekte integrieren konnten, die uns besonders am Herzen liegen.”



Alexander Artopé
Co-Founder und CEO, smava

Fussabdruck

smavas Fußabdruck

smavas CO2-Fußabdruck umfasst die Summe aller Treibhausgase, die durch alle Unternehmensaktivitäten in die Atmosphäre gelangen. Diese Emissionen entstehen im Fall von smava durch Bürobetrieb, das Pendeln der Mitarbeiter*innen und Geschäftsreisen, wie auch durch Services und Dienstleistungen, die das Unternehmen nutzt.    

 

 

smava berücksichtigt als Unternehmen in seiner CO2-Bilanz nicht nur die direkten und energiebezogenen Emissionen (Greenhouse Gas Protocol Scope 1 und Scope 2), sondern auch die Emissionen, die in der Wertschöpfungskette durch Dienstleister und eingekaufte Produkte und Services entstehen (GHG Protocol Scope 3), und gleicht sie gesamthaft aus.

1.692 t

Größte Faktoren waren:

526,79 t CO₂e

Ausstattung der Büros und Konsumgüter

Services
450,47 t CO₂e

Externe Services & Dienstleistungen

300,75 t CO₂e

Geschäftsreisen & Pendeln der Mitarbeiter*innen

Analyse

Die Ergebnisse unserer Analyse

smavas CO2-Fußabdruck für das Geschäftsjahr 2019 lag bei 1.692 t CO2e. Der größte Anteil des Fußabdrucks wurde durch den Bürobetrieb verursacht, gefolgt von externen Services und Dienstleistungen, die das Unternehmen nutzt. Geschäftsreisen sowie das Pendeln der Mitarbeiter*innen machen den drittgrößten Teil des Fußabdrucks aus. Für die CO2-Kompensation hat smava seinen ermittelten Fußabdruck großzügig auf 1900 t CO2 aufgerundet.

Ausblick

smava ergreift weitere Klimaschutzmaßnahmen

Um seinen CO2-Fußabdruck zu senken, hat smava in diesem Jahr seinen Bürobetrieb auf Grünstrom umgestellt und stellt in den Büros Wasserspender anstelle von Plastikflaschen zur Verfügung.

 

Um das Pendeln der Mitarbeiter*innen zu reduzieren, hat smava eine großzügige Home Office-Regelung, die das zeitweise Arbeiten von Zuhause ermöglicht. Für den Büroweg bietet smava seinen Mitarbeiter*innen zusätzlich ein Firmenticket für den Nahverkehr.

 

smava plant außerdem am Berliner Headquarters Bienenhotels aufzustellen, um sich für den Erhalt unserer biologischen Vielfalt und ein intaktes Ökosystem einzusetzen.

 

Engagement für unser Ökosystem liegt smava CEO Alexander Artopé und CFO Sebastian Bielski besonders am Herzen. Deshalb hat sich smava entschieden, in diesem Jahr auf Weihnachtsgeschenke für Geschäftspartner*innen zu verzichten und stattdessen für ein lokales Aufforstungsprojekt in Brandenburg sowie ein Projekt zum Ozeanschutz mit der Plastic Bank zu spenden. Damit unterstützt smava die Aufforstung von 270 Bäumen und das Sammeln von mehr als 9 t Plastik aus dem Ozean.

Projekte

smava hat seine CO2-Emissionen aus dem Geschäftsjahr 2019 vollständig kompensiert

CEO Alexander Artopé und CFO Sebastian Bielski teilen die Leidenschaft für Wald und Wasser und möchten hier einen nachhaltigen Beitrag leisten. Dieses Ziel spiegelt sich daher auch in smavas Klimaschutzportfolio wider.

 

Mit seinem ersten Projekt unterstützt smava den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser durch Brunnenbau und -wartung in Ruanda. Das Projekt trägt nicht nur zu einer Verbesserung von lokalen Hygiene- und Gesundheitsbedingungen bei, sondern verringert auch die Abhängigkeit von Brennholz und sorgt für mehr Gleichberechtigung zwischen Frauen und Männern.

 

In Indonesien unterstützt smava zudem das REDD+ Borneo Regenwaldprojekt. Dieses Projekt bewahrt 64.500 Hektar Torfmoorwälder mit hoher Biodiversität vor der Umwandlung in Palmölplantagen. Die REDD+ Projekte der Vereinten Nationen verfolgen langfristige Strategien zur Bekämpfung der Ursachen von Entwaldung und Waldschädigung.

 

Alle von smava unterstützten Klimaschutzprojekte erfüllen strenge Qualitätsanforderungen.

  • Trinkwasserversorgung und -qualität in Ruanda

    Ruanda

  • borneo rainforest

    REDD+ Borneo Regenwaldprojekt

    Indonesien

  • Klimawald Brandenburg

    Aufforstungsprojekt in Brandenburg

    Deutschland

  • Plastic Bank Bali 2019

    Projekt zum Ozeanschutz mit der Plastic Bank

  • Würden Sie gerne weitere Informationen erhalten?

    Schreiben Sie uns, wenn Sie Fragen zum Vorgehen haben oder ebenfalls gemeinsam mit Planetly den Weg zur Klimaneutralität gehen möchten!

    smava
    Tina Schirmer
    [email protected]
    Zu smava
    Planetly
    Christina Richter
    [email protected]
    Zu Planetly

    Jetzt Kunde werden!